This Other Island

This Other Island

A heartbreaking and powerful book club read about race, identity and family

Steffanie Edward

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

‘Oh what a wonderful, heart breaking, stunning, beautiful story. This touched my heart, made me cry. Beautifully written. A masterpiece.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

St Lucia, 28 July 1961. The day my father and mother boarded a ship called the Carlotta C. The day my story began, the day my truth started to disappear…

When Yvette receives a call saying her estranged father, Joe, is fighting for his life in hospital, she rushes to his side. She’s determined to have him back in her life and to forgive him for walking out on her and her mother so many years ago. But when she arrives she doesn’t find the larger-than-life father she remembers. Joe seems broken; haunted by the past. So, when he begs Yvette to help him find the truth, she knows she must…

Since stepping off the ship that brought him with Yvette’s mother, Doli, from the sunny, picturesque island of St. Lucia, with its tranquil Caribbean seas and air fragrant with the scent of tropical fruits, to start new lives in a cold and unwelcoming Britain, Joe has carried a dark secret. For years, he’s believed he might have killed a man on the ship. A man who had had feelings for Doli too. A man who could perhaps help Yvette answer questions she didn’t even know needed answering.

When she asks her mother for help with tracking him down, Doli is uncharacteristically quiet. Yvette wonders if finding the truth might break their relationship, but she can’t stop; daren’t let her papa down. As she sorts through old passports and shipping records, Yvette knows she has to unravel this secret history of love and betrayal, loyalty and sacrifice.

Will uncovering the truth tear their fragile family apart or bring them back together?

A heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.

Readers are loving This Other Island:

A beautiful debut… I was immediately swept up in the story and was totally captivated There is so much to love about this book, it’s heart-breaking at times, uplifting at others, and just so beautifully written. A stunning read about family, about home and about love, I enjoyed it from start to finish and didn’t want it to end.’ Sibbz Reads

What a beautiful book! I enjoyed the heck outta this one! The writing was flawless. Characters amazing! I loved the setting! I just absolutely adored this one…


Author

Info

Reviews